💭Curiosities, Intuitions, & Doing More of What We Love

Why we should make time for the things that set our souls on fire 🔥

Seeds Family - welcome back to another Transformation Tuesday!⚡️🌱After a couple weeks in Portland, Tacoma, and back to Portland, we’re now coming to you live from sunny Southern California 😎 (and off to San Diego tomorrow! 🌴)

Most of you know I love traveling… so I think you’ll appreciate that I just created a new goal inspired by our current AirBNB host: 40 countries by 40. If you have any suggestions, please reply to this email and let me know.

Speaking of Tuesdays, I recently read a powerful way to think about your ideal week (thanks to Ali Abdaal’s newsletter). Tim Ferriss calls it “Crushing It Tuesdays”:

Your life is made up of a series of ordinary Tuesdays. Figure out what your ideal normal Tuesday looks like. Because if you can have an amazing Tuesday, you’ll probably have an amazing life.

Food for thought as we start rounding out 2023 and head into 2024 💭

Now into the content of this episode (I also posted this across my LinkedIn & Instagram pages, so if you’ve already seen it, here’s a quick reminder to do the things we love, and do them more often). Plus, there is additional context with a pointed questions to get you thinking.

My 31st Birthday

A few weeks back I took PTO for my 31st birthday, which is nothing new. I take PTO every year on my birthday for some “me” time - a day of reflection, gratitude, dreaming, celebration, and typically consisting of running my number of years in miles. I was battling an injury for this year’s birthday, so we transitioned to simply taking a day to do things I love:

  • Waking up early

  • Still starting my day with a run (3.1 miles for the 31st, and at the time it was my longest to date working back from injury)🏃🏻‍♂️

  • Going to Knot Springs for a personal spa, relaxation, & recovery day (sauna, cold plunge, repeat - HIGHLY recommend if you’re ever in Portland)

    This place has turned into my birthday retreat for the last 2 years

  • Wearing my $10 Costco sweatpants and 15-year old sweatshirt I still love (will never get old)

  • Sitting on the floor of Powell’s books reading whatever catches my eye

    My classic reading spot at Powell’s Books… on the floor

    Legendary Powell’s Books in Portland, Oregon!

  • Striking up conversations with random people (a day without an agenda can lead to some amazing conversations!)

  • Getting lost in the city in an absolute downpour ☔️

    Woodlark Hotel - recommendation from my new friend at Knot Springs!

  • Reading my new book in a boutique coffee spot in the heart of downtown Portland ☕️📚

    A friend from Knot Springs recommended the Woodlark Hotel for a quaint, boutique coffee spot to read my book. Highly recommend!

  • Having brunch… solo (sometimes I love just eating without any obligation to social conversation 😂)

    Screen Door brunch spot in downtown Portland!

    I get eggs Benedict about 1x/year… and these were insane. Fried green tomato, with these cajun potatoes that were out of this world

  • Getting my free birthday Starbucks (7 shot Viente Americano)

  • Almost passing out from an amazingly intense CorePower Yoga sesh

  • Enjoying dinner with friends & people I love

  • Sampling 8 flavors of Salt & Straw and still getting my staple 🍦

    Salt & Straw staple - Gooey Brownie + Salted Halter Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

  • Going to bed early to prioritize sleep 😴

It was so refreshing to enjoy a full day to just be and do whatever with no rules, no agenda, no obligations. Just letting curiosity and intuitions guide the way. 

And so I want to now bring it back to you:

  • When was the last time you took a day for just yourself? A day with no agenda, no obligations, no work, no rules. Just you and your intuitions.

  • What do you love doing, that you haven’t done in a while and miss doing?

  • What makes you feel alive, invigorated, full of life, and sets your soul on fire?

I want to encourage you to take that day for yourself. Go do the thing(s) you love doing and haven’t done in a while. Get out and explore. Go do something you’ve never done, try something you’ve never had. Check something off your bucket list. Chase your intuitions, dreams, and passions.

And here’s the tricky part - go do it now. ASAP. Before one day leads to the next, and the next thing you know it’s 2024. You don’t need to wait until your birthday or some milestone. Even if it’s a half day, an hour, 30 minutes. Give yourself the time and space you need and deserve - to be you and do the things you love.

Life is better living in our callings.

________________________________________________

Thank you for being a part of the Seeds Community. It means more than I’ll ever be able to share in this writing.

My Big Ask: can you please do me a huge favor and share this with a friend who might enjoy it as well?

You can do that by forwarding this email to them, or sending them this link.

Sharing this newsletter is the #1 thing that can help us grow and create the global positive impact we are striving for. I’m beyond appreciative of your support.

►Follow The Journey:

🎬YouTube | 📸Instagram | 📱TikTok | ✍️LinkedIn

Trending Content🔥

What did you think of this week’s episode? Feel free to hit “reply” and let me know in 5-10 words. Any and all feedback is always welcomed.

Keep Plantin’