One Quick Way to Decrease Your Work Stress & Anxiety šŸ˜Œ

This worked for me, and can work for you

I did something this weekend that I havenā€™t done in a long time - I worked on the weekend.

And a 3-day weekend at that.

And while it may not be a popular opinion (and something I don't typically advocate for), I did it anyways... and it felt really good.

My typical work week is to finish strong Friday afternoon, and then log off completely for the weekend.

(Donā€™t get me wrong - I work in sales, so if a deal needs to get done, you bet Iā€™m logging in to do what needs to be done and finish the job)

That being said, I have always been a huge proponent of shutting off work for the weekend, completely disconnecting, and using the weekends to reset and live life.

Thatā€™s also not to say I go on full shut down mode - I have plenty of passion projects that my weekends consist of:

Writing the newsletter
Running the podcast
Training for events
Traveling, Adventuring
Hanging with friends & family

The list goes on.

But, one month into a new job, there's a lot going on.

Nothing I can't handle, but a lot nonetheless.

(Also making sure to give myself some grace given itā€™s only been 5 weeks so far)

Thereā€™s just a lot to do. And everything feels like a priority.

Can you relate? Have you started a new job? New project? New life chapter of some sort, and you just feel like thereā€™s a never ending list of things you could and should be doing?

Well let me tell you. I worked for a couple hours, and it felt SO good.

I worked on Friday's project that wasn't quite finished.

I prospected.

Crafted emails.

Built templates.

Rolled out sequences.

Scheduled sends for Tuesday morning.

All the things that are 100% priorities, but hard to prioritize over everything thatā€™s been going on during the week (immediate RGA's, learning, prepping, building process, customer meetings, advancing deals, etc.)

Bringing it back to you (and I say this with caution):

If you're feeling slightly overwhelmed, or feel like there's still "so much to do" when the weekend rolls around, don't be afraid to pop the laptop open and knock out a couple action items.

I'm tellin ya - I jammed out a couple hours with no time limits, no deadlines, no stress - and it felt so good.

And my weekend was that much better.

Feel free to share any thoughts, ideas, strategies y'all have around this topic. Would love to learn about what works / doesn't work for you.

P.S. - I felt strongly enough about working on the weekend that I dropped a quick podcast about it šŸŽ§

https://lnkd.in/gyCj6pyx

If you have Sunday plans, amazing. Tear it up and donā€™t think twice.

If doing 10, 15, or 30 minutes of some work will enhance your overall weekend experience, put you in a better mood, relieve some stress, and prepare you even more for Monday, by all means donā€™t be shy to test it out.

Happy Weekend āš”ļø

P.P.S. - I traveled to Florida yesterday, and the Priority Pass with Chase Sapphire is one of the biggest travel hacks out there āœˆļø

Priority Pass for the win